Nominations Open for National Hemophilia Foundation Awards

Mary Chapman avatar

by Mary Chapman |

Share this article:

Share article via email
NHF awards

The National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF) is calling for nominations for its Awards of Excellence, which honor members of the bleeding disorders community.

The awards are for those who have helped improve the lives of patients with bleeding diseases, including those with hemophilia, through treatment and care, advocacy, and raising awareness. The deadline for nominations is April 16, and notifications of selections will go out by May 3. Winners will be announced Aug. 28 at this year’s NHF Bleeding Disorders Conference.

Individual healthcare provider of the year awards will go to a physician, nurse, physical therapist, social worker, and genetic counselor.

The Physician of the Year Award recognizes a doctor who is a committed caregiver and has had a major impact on the lives of patients. Candidates must have demonstrated compassion and concern for those with bleeding disorders, be knowledgeable about treatments, and be strong patient advocates.

Nurse of the Year prospects must have provided outstanding services to the bleeding disorders community beyond day-to-day responsibilities and be seen as a role model for others. They must have at least two years of experience working in the community.

Likewise, candidates for the physical therapist and social worker awards must have demonstrated similar devotion to the community, and worked in the community for two years or more.

In addition, the Mary M. Gooley Humanitarian of the Year Award will be given to a non-provider hemophilia treatment center (HTC) staff member who has evinced dedication to families and a commitment to their care.

“This person has shown a caring and humane spirit in their work to improve the quality of life for patients and their families,” the NHF stated in its award nominee descriptions.

Genetic Counselor of the Year candidates must have shown expertise and empathy and have taken a leading role in assisting, guiding, and educating families and individuals about genetic inheritance in bleeding disorders. Candidates also must be up-to-date with the latest research in the growing field of molecular therapies for blood clotting disorders.

“For nearly all our families who learn they are carriers of an inheritable bleeding disorder, the genetic counselor is often the first person to foster the family’s understanding and to help them make informed decisions for the life ahead of them,” the organization further stated.

There also will be awards honoring community advocates, volunteers, and NHF chapter staff. One such honor is the Ryan White Youth Award — named for the late hemophilia patient — that will be given to a young person ages 8–25, who has helped raise awareness about the condition.

The Loras Goedken Outstanding Leadership Award will be given to a current NHF board member who has demonstrated leadership and outstanding community engagement. Meanwhile, the Advocate of the Year Award will be granted to a person who played an active role in their chapter’s advocacy program.

Another award, Chapter Volunteer of the Year, will recognize a volunteer who has made an enduring impact on their local chapter.

Finally, the Lifetime Achievement Award will distinguish an individual who has shown outstanding dedication to improving the lives of community members.

More information on the awards and how to nominate a candidate for one of the prizes can be found on the NHF’s Bleeding Disorders Conference website.

Testimonials or letters of recommendation may be attached to nomination forms, which are available here. Nominations can come from community members, NHF chapter volunteers and staff, and HTC staff.

Current NHF board members, NHF staff, and paid consultants are ineligible for an award.